Board of Trustees

Mission of the Board

Molly Carroll

Lisa Bailey Cassidy

Brad Copeland

Janet Dicke

Cassy Everhart

Kat Fritter

Rick Haney

Jim Hassett

Darrell Helms

Dan Leben

Margo Murray

Russell Post

Pat Roberts

Christina Simonds

Steve Slovick (leave of absence)

Jody Steele

Christina Watson

The members of The Academy’s Board of Trustees are responsible for the school stewardship. They are the custodians of the school’s mission and make decisions that represent the best hopes for the school’s future. As strategic planners, they focus on preserving capital and fixed assets, defining sustainable budgets, and actively participating in fundraising.

Current trustees accept the obligations to preserve and improve the enterprise. The board’s internal rules conform to the fiduciary duties of the board: Loyalty (duty to put the interests of the school before individual interests); Compliance (duty to be sure that the school conforms to applicable local, state, and federal laws and regulations and accreditation standards); and Care (the duty to make good decisions with reasonable care).

Trustees are called upon to contribute their time, thoughts, and energy to support the sustainability and growth of The Academy at Ocean Reef. Present and past members of the board are strong advocates for the school’s fundraising activities and personally support and promote events designed to supplement the school’s income. Finally, trustees work to identify potential trustees whose membership would complement the current board’s expertise.