OUR FACULTY

Teachers at The Academy have many options of where they can choose to work, but they have selected The Academy at Ocean Reef. They have chosen this unique place because they have aspirations to teach and help children reach their full potential in a place where education is a priority. Teachers are not just employees but partners in an educational and life journey.



Jerome Murphy.jpg

Jerome Murphy

Head of School​

 

jmurphy@oracademy.org

B.A., Lehigh University

 

M.A., Sacred Heart University

Jaren Evans.jpg

Jaren Evans

Assistant Head of School/

Middle School English

jevans@oracademy.org

B.A., North Carolina Central University

M.S., Florida International University

Marnie B.jpg

Marnie Buchsbaum

Business Manager

mbuchsbaum@oracademy.org

B.A., Oswego State University

unnamed.jpg

Meg Ryan

Guidance ​Counselor

mryan@oracademy.org​

B.A., Fairleigh Dickinson University

M.S., Monmouth University

Myriam Bernal.jpg

Myriam Bernal​

Dean of Students/

Second and Third Grade​

mbernal@oracademy.org

B.S., Barry University

IMG_6209.jpg

Christine Burdette
Fourth and Fifth Grade Teacher's Assistant​

cburdette@oracademy.org

A.A., Miami Dade College

 

Kat B.jpg

Katherine Bustamante

Kindergarten and First Grade

kbustamante@oracademy.org​

B.S., Florida International University

Kellie Diaz.jpg

Kellie Diaz 
Early Childhood Director
PreK3/PreK4

kdiaz@oracademy.org​

B.A., Florida International University

JCelmer Headshot.JPG

Joseph Celmer
Music Education

jcelmer@oracademy.org

B.A., Music Illinois State University
M.A., Music  Indiana University
M.A., Music Education  Boston University

Evelyn Ibanez.jpg

Evelyn M. Ibanez

Second and Third Grade Teacher's Assistant

eibanez@oracademy.org

B.A., Montclair State College

Zusann Jarrin.jpg

Zusann Jarrin

Spanish Teacher

zjarrin@oracademy.org​

B.S., Trinity International University

Nicky Laak.jpg

Nicky Laak

Middle School Social Studies

Library & Media Specialist

nlaak@oracademy.org

B.A., Union Institute and University

M.S., Nova Southeastern University

Jeff Magliola.jpg

Jeff Magliola
Educational Technology
Director of Information Technology

jmagliola@oracademy.org

B.S., University of Connecticut

M.A., Pace University

unnamed (1).jpg

Jessamy Mathieson
Fourth and Fifth Grade 

jmathieson@oracademy.org

B.A., Florida International University

M.S., Barry University

Kristen McHugh.jpg

Kristen McHugh

Professional Development Coordinator

Middle School Math and Science

kmchugh@oracademy.org

B.A., University of Florida

 

M.A., University of Florida

Val.jpg

Valerie Robles
Toddler
Teacher's Assistant

vrobles@oracademy.org

Katherine Bustamante.jpg

Amanda Rufin

Kindergarten and First Grade Teacher's Assistant

arufin@oracademy.org

A.A., Miami Dade College

Dan-Smith-364x510.jpg

Dan Smith

Physical Education​

dsmith@oracademy.org​

B.S., University of New England

Capture.JPG

Hope Sperling
Art Education

hsperling@oracademy.org

B.S., St. Thomas Aquinas

A.S., SUNY College

Margarita Vallejo.jpg

Margarita Vallejo

Toddler Program

mvallejo@oracademy.org

B.A., Central Education University

North American Montessori Center

STAFF

IMG_20210809_101954.jpg

Juan Suri
Facilities Manager

jsuri@oracademy.org

Ileana Diaz.jpg

Ileana Diaz

Administrative Assistant

idiaz@oracademy.org

IMG_6295.jpg

Tammy Lachowicz

Cleaning Services​

tlachowicz@oracademy.org