OUR FACULTY

Teachers at The Academy have many options of where they can choose to work, but they have selected The Academy at Ocean Reef. They have chosen this unique place because they have aspirations to teach and help children reach their full potential in a place where education is a priority. Teachers are not just employees but partners in an educational and life journey.



Jerome Murphy.jpg

Jerome Murphy

Head of School​

 

jmurphy@oracademy.org

B.A., Lehigh University

 

M.A., Sacred Heart University

Jaren Evans.jpg

Jaren Evans

Assistant Head of School/

Middle School English

jevans@oracademy.org

B.A., North Carolina Central University

M.S., Florida International University

Marnie B.jpg

Marnie Buchsbaum

Business Manager

mbuchsbaum@oracademy.org

B.A., Oswego State University

IMG_20220815_133215.jpeg
Myriam Bernal.jpg

Myriam Bernal​

Dean of Students/

Second and Third Grade​

mbernal@oracademy.org

B.S., Barry University

Kat B.jpg

Katherine Bustamante

Kindergarten and First Grade

kbustamante@oracademy.org​

B.S., Florida International University

JCelmer Headshot.JPG

Joseph Celmer
Music Education

jcelmer@oracademy.org

B.A., Music Illinois State University
M.A., Music  Indiana University
M.A., Music Education  Boston University

IMG_20220815_125508.jpeg
Kellie Diaz.jpg

Kellie Diaz 
Early Childhood Director
PreK3/PreK4

kdiaz@oracademy.org​

B.A., Florida International University

Evelyn Ibanez.jpg

Evelyn M. Ibanez

Second and Third Grade Teacher's Assistant

eibanez@oracademy.org

B.A., Montclair State College

Nicky Laak.jpg

Nicky Laak

Middle School Social Studies

Library & Media Specialist

nlaak@oracademy.org

B.A., Union Institute and University

M.S., Nova Southeastern University

IMG_7228.jpeg
IMG_5317 (1).jpeg

Selena Lozoya
K/1
Teacher's Assistant

slozoya@oracademy.org

IMG_20220815_124947.jpeg

Jaime Machado
Spanish 
jmachado@oracademy.org


B.A., California Christian University
 

Jeff Magliola.jpg

Jeff Magliola
Educational Technology
Director of Information Technology

jmagliola@oracademy.org

B.S., University of Connecticut

M.A., Pace University

IMG_20220204_090030.jpg

Destiny Martinez
PreK Teacher's Assistant

dmartinez@oracademy.org

 

IMG_20220314_133517.jpg

Michael Rothman
Athletic Coordinator
Middle School Math
7/8 Science
mrothman@oracademy.org

B.S., Florida International University

M.A., Keiser University

Dan-Smith-364x510.jpg

Dan Smith

Physical Education​

dsmith@oracademy.org​

B.S., University of New England

Capture.JPG

Hope Sperling
Art Education

hsperling@oracademy.org

B.S., St. Thomas Aquinas

A.S., SUNY College

Margarita Vallejo.jpg

Margarita Vallejo

Toddler Program

mvallejo@oracademy.org

B.A., Central Education University

North American Montessori Center

STAFF

Ileana Diaz.jpg

Ileana Diaz

Administrative Assistant

idiaz@oracademy.org

IMG_20220314_082746.jpg

Jonathan Jackson
Facilities Manager

jjackson@oracademy.org