OUR FACULTY

Teachers at The Academy have many options of where they can choose to work, but they have selected The Academy at Ocean Reef. They have chosen this unique place because they have aspirations to teach and help children reach their full potential in a place where education is a priority. Teachers are not just employees but partners in an educational and life journey.



Jerome Murphy

Head of School​

jmurphy@oracademy.org

Lehigh University

Sacred Heart University

Jaren Evans

Assistant Head of School/

Middle School English

jevans@oracademy.org

North Carolina Central University

Florida International University

Myriam Bernal​

Dean of Students/

Second and Third Grade​

mbernal@oracademy.org

Barry University 

Christine Burdette

Toddler Teacher's Assistant​

cburdette@oracademy.org

Katherine Bustamante

Kindergarten and First Grade

kbustamante@oracademy.org​

Miami Dade College

Florida International University

Tabbatha Chesler

Fourth and Fifth Grade

tchesler@oracademy.org

University of Southern California

 

University of Hawaii

Kellie Diaz 

Early Childhood Director

PreK3/PreK4

kdiaz@oracademy.org​

Florida International University

Nick Fowler​

Music Education

Fourth and Fifth Grade Teacher's Assistant

nfowler@oracademy.org​

Amherst College

Evelyn M. Ibanez

Second and Third Grade Teacher's Assistant

eibanez@oracademy.org

Montclair State College

Nova Southeastern University

Zusann Jarrin

Spanish Teacher

zjarrin@oracademy.org​

Trinity International University

Nicky Laak

Middle School Social Studies

Library & Media Specialist

nlaak@oracademy.org

Union Institute and University

Nova Southeastern University

Kristen McHugh

Professional Development Coordinator

Middle School Math and Science

kmchugh@oracademy.org

University of Florida

Jeff Magliola

Educational Technology

Director of Information Technology

jmagliola@oracademy.org

University of Connecticut

Pace University

Vicki Maldonado

PreK3/PreK4

Teacher's Assistant

vmaldonado@oracademy.org

Miami Dade College

Amanda Rufin

Kindergarten and First Grade Teacher's Assistant

arufin@oracademy.org

Miami Dade College

Dan Smith

Physical Education​

dsmith@oracademy.org​

University of New England

Hope Sperling

Art Education

hsperling@oracademy.org

SUNY College

Margarita Vallejo

Toddler Program

mvallejo@oracademy.org

Central Education University

Miami Dade College

North American Montessori Center

STAFF

Marnie Buchsbaum

Business Manager

mbuchsbaum@oracademy.org

Ileana Diaz

Administrative Assistant

idiaz@oracademy.org

Steve Lachowicz

Plant Manager

slachowicz@oracademy.org