OUR FACULTY

Teachers at The Academy have many options of where they can choose to work, but they have selected The Academy at Ocean Reef. They have chosen this unique place because they have aspirations to teach and help children reach their full potential in a place where education is a priority. Teachers are not just employees but partners in an educational and life journey.



Jerome Murphy

Head of School​

 

jmurphy@oracademy.org

B.A., Lehigh University

 

M.A., Sacred Heart University

Jaren Evans

Assistant Head of School/

Middle School English

jevans@oracademy.org

B.A., North Carolina Central University

M.S., Florida International University

Marnie Buchsbaum

Business Manager

mbuchsbaum@oracademy.org

B.A., Oswego State University

Meg Ryan

Guidance ​Counselor

mryan@oracademy.org​

B.A., Fairleigh Dickinson University

M.S., Monmouth University

Myriam Bernal​

Dean of Students/

Second and Third Grade​

mbernal@oracademy.org

B.S., Barry University

Christine Burdette
Fourth and Fifth Grade Teacher's Assistant​

cburdette@oracademy.org

A.A., Miami Dade College

 

Katherine Bustamante

Kindergarten and First Grade

kbustamante@oracademy.org​

B.S., Florida International University

Tabbatha Chesler

Fourth and Fifth Grade

tchesler@oracademy.org

MEd., University of Southern California

 

BEd., University of Hawaii

Kellie Diaz 
Early Childhood Director
PreK3/PreK4

kdiaz@oracademy.org​

B.A., Florida International University

Joseph Celmer
Music Education

jcelmer@oracademy.org

B.A., Music Illinois State University
M.A., Music  Indiana University
M.A., Music Education  Boston University

Evelyn M. Ibanez

Second and Third Grade Teacher's Assistant

eibanez@oracademy.org

B.A., Montclair State College

Zusann Jarrin

Spanish Teacher

zjarrin@oracademy.org​

B.S., Trinity International University

Nicky Laak

Middle School Social Studies

Library & Media Specialist

nlaak@oracademy.org

B.A., Union Institute and University

M.S., Nova Southeastern University

Kristen McHugh

Professional Development Coordinator

Middle School Math and Science

kmchugh@oracademy.org

B.A., University of Florida

 

M.A., University of Florida

Jeff Magliola
Educational Technology
Director of Information Technology

jmagliola@oracademy.org

B.S., University of Connecticut

M.A., Pace University

Valerie Robles
Toddler
Teacher's Assistant

vrobles@oracademy.org

Amanda Rufin

Kindergarten and First Grade Teacher's Assistant

arufin@oracademy.org

A.A., Miami Dade College

Dan Smith

Physical Education​

dsmith@oracademy.org​

B.S., University of New England

Hope Sperling
Art Education

hsperling@oracademy.org

B.S., St. Thomas Aquinas

A.S., SUNY College

Margarita Vallejo

Toddler Program

mvallejo@oracademy.org

B.A., Central Education University

North American Montessori Center

Monica Yero
PreK3/PreK4
Teacher's Assistant
 

STAFF

Juan Suri
Facilities Manager

jsuri@oracademy.org

Ileana Diaz

Administrative Assistant

idiaz@oracademy.org

Tammy Lachowicz

Cleaning Services​

tlachowicz@oracademy.org